Twelve issuers confirm RuPay credit cards on UPI on their own sites, from HDFC, SBI Card and ICICI to AU and BOBCARD. Cards named, daily UPI limits, reward caps and what to check.
Quick Verdict
RuPay credit cards are offered by most large banks in India, including HDFC Bank, SBI Card, ICICI Bank, Axis Bank, Kotak Mahindra Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank, IndusInd Bank, YES BANK, Bank of Baroda (BOBCARD), Union Bank of India, Federal Bank and AU Small Finance Bank. Each of these issuers confirms on its own website, as of November 2026, that its RuPay credit cards can be linked to UPI.
This RuPay credit card banks list shows which cards each bank names, the UPI rules that differ from bank to bank, and what to check before you apply.
Quick fact | What the banks say |
|---|---|
Which cards link to UPI | Only RuPay credit cards; Visa and Mastercard cannot be linked |
Who you can pay | Merchants only (P2M); no transfers to people |
Receiving money | Not allowed on a linked credit card |
First 24 hours | ₹5,000 limit at SBI Card, Kotak and BOBCARD |
Linking fee | None, as per SBI Card, Kotak and BOBCARD FAQs |
New to the idea? Read Credit Card on UPI Explained.
RuPay Credit Card Banks List: Which Banks Offer Them?
The list below is built from each bank's own RuPay or UPI page. Where a bank names specific RuPay cards, we list them. Where it does not, we say so.
Issuer | RuPay cards named on the bank's own pages | Notes |
|---|---|---|
HDFC Bank | HDFC Bank UPI RuPay Credit Card; RuPay variants of Tata Neu Infinity, Tata Neu Plus and Freedom | Links only in select UPI apps, per HDFC's page |
SBI Card | RuPay versions of cards such as SimplySAVE and IRCTC SBI; Eternal SBI has a RuPay variant | Live on UPI since 10 August 2023 |
ICICI Bank | Coral, HPCL Super Saver, Rubyx, Sapphiro, MakeMyTrip (RuPay) | Link in iMobile one hour after the card is created |
Axis Bank | Axis Bank RuPay credit cards, including NEO RuPay; Scapia Axis issues a Mastercard and a RuPay card from one application | Earns EDGE Reward points as per the card |
Kotak Mahindra Bank | Kotak RuPay credit cards (the UPI page does not list card names) | Add-on RuPay cards cannot be linked to UPI |
IDFC FIRST Bank | FIRST Digital RuPay Credit Card | Listed in IDFC FIRST's MITC |
IndusInd Bank | Platinum RuPay; Poonawalla Fincorp IndusInd Bank eLITE RuPay | Works on third-party UPI apps |
YES BANK | KLICK RuPay Credit Card | Merchant payments only |
Bank of Baroda (BOBCARD) | BOBCARD RuPay cards, including the lifetime-free BOBCARD issued with Ujjivan SFB | UPI rewards capped at 500 points per cycle |
Union Bank of India | RuPay Select and RuPay Platinum variants listed | The bank does not say which variants link to UPI |
Federal Bank | Federal Bank RuPay credit cards (card names not listed) | Eligible cards appear by registered mobile number |
AU Small Finance Bank | AU Spont, InstaPay (existing AU cardholders), RuPay variant of the ixigo AU card, AU KOSMO (with Kiwi) | Daily UPI limit can be set in the AU 0101 app |
This is not every RuPay issuer. Other banks, including several public sector banks, may also issue RuPay credit cards; we list only issuers whose current pages we could confirm, so check with your own bank. NPCI's own RuPay page is the network-level reference.
Want lifetime-free options? See 7 Best Lifetime Free RuPay Cards for 2026.
How the UPI Rules Differ by Bank
The basic rules are the same everywhere: RuPay only, merchant payments only, and you cannot receive money. Limits and rewards differ.
Issuer | Daily UPI limit | First 24 hours | Rewards on UPI |
|---|---|---|---|
SBI Card | ₹5 lakh (₹1 lakh at small offline merchants), within your credit limit | ₹5,000 | As per the card; fuel surcharge reversal does not apply on UPI |
Kotak | ₹1 lakh per card (₹2 lakh in some cases) | ₹5,000 | Earns points, except excluded categories |
BOBCARD | Up to ₹1 lakh after the first day | ₹5,000 | Core points, capped at 500 per statement cycle |
ICICI Bank | Lower of the NPCI UPI limit and your credit limit | Not stated | Same rate as the card's normal rewards |
HDFC Freedom (RuPay) | Not stated on the card page | Not stated | 1 CashPoint per ₹200, capped at 500 a month |
Tata Neu Infinity HDFC | Not stated on the card page | Not stated | Up to 1.5% in NeuCoins, capped at 500 a month |
Fees still apply on some UPI payments. SBI Card, for example, charges 1% on utility payments above ₹50,000 in a billing cycle and ₹199 on rent payments, whatever the payment channel. For linking steps, see The Guide to Linking RuPay Cards to UPI.
What Each Type of User Should Check
Freshers and first-time users
Ask your own bank first. A RuPay card from the bank that holds your salary or savings account is often the easiest approval.
Some RuPay cards are offered only to existing customers, such as AU's InstaPay and the BOBCARD issued with Ujjivan SFB.
Middle-aged families
Kotak says add-on RuPay cards cannot be linked to UPI. Check this before relying on a spouse's add-on card for UPI.
UPI rewards are often capped (500 points or NeuCoins a month on several cards), so heavy household UPI spend may outrun the cap.
Travellers and frequent flyers
UPI on a credit card is domestic; AU says its RuPay UPI payments are limited to domestic merchants.
For trips abroad, pair a RuPay card with a Visa or Mastercard. Scapia Axis issues both from one application.
Professionals (CA, lawyer, doctor)
Scanning a merchant's UPI QR is allowed; paying a person or another card is not.
Check which business categories your bank excludes from rewards before routing large payments through UPI.
Senior citizens and retirees
Set a low daily limit if you only need small payments. AU lets you set or turn off UPI use in its app.
Use the bank's own app where possible, and never share your UPI PIN or card PIN.
How to Check If Your Card Is RuPay
Look at the network logo on the front of the card.
Open a UPI app, choose to add a credit card, and see if your bank's card appears for your registered mobile number.
If you hold a Visa or Mastercard card, ask your bank whether a RuPay variant of the same card exists.
For how the four networks compare, read Visa vs Mastercard vs RuPay vs Amex.
Checklist
Confirm the card is on RuPay, not Visa or Mastercard.
Check the bank's daily UPI limit and the first-24-hour limit.
Check the monthly cap on UPI rewards.
Check which categories earn nothing on UPI.
Keep the mobile number on the card and the UPI app the same.
Turn on the card's online or contactless controls if your bank requires it.
Re-link the card after a renewal or replacement.
Pay the full bill; UPI spends are credit card spends.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Mistake 1: Trying to link a Visa or Mastercard card
Only RuPay credit cards can be linked to UPI.
Mistake 2: Sending money to a friend
Person-to-person transfers are blocked on credit card UPI.
Mistake 3: Making a big payment on day one
Several banks cap the first 24 hours at ₹5,000.
Mistake 4: Forgetting that UPI spend is credit
It appears on your card bill and attracts interest if unpaid.
Mistake 5: Assuming every UPI spend earns rewards
Caps and exclusions apply, and some fees apply whatever the channel.
See also Best RuPay Credit Cards for UPI.
Benchmarksutra Verdict
You do not need to hunt for a special bank. Most major issuers now offer RuPay credit cards, and all of them follow the same core UPI rules. The real differences are daily limits, UPI reward caps and which cards a bank offers on RuPay.
Final rule: start with your own bank's RuPay card, check its UPI reward cap, and keep a Visa or Mastercard for travel abroad.
FAQs
Which banks offer RuPay credit cards?
HDFC Bank, SBI Card, ICICI, Axis, Kotak, IDFC FIRST, IndusInd, YES BANK, BOBCARD, Union Bank of India, Federal Bank and AU Small Finance Bank all confirm RuPay credit cards on UPI on their own sites.
Can I link a Visa credit card to UPI?
No. Banks say only RuPay credit cards can be linked to UPI.
Can I send money to a person using a RuPay credit card on UPI?
No. Only payments to merchants are allowed.
Is there a fee to link a RuPay credit card to UPI?
SBI Card, Kotak and BOBCARD say there is no fee for linking or for UPI transactions; card fees such as rent or utility charges can still apply.
What is the UPI limit on a RuPay credit card?
It varies: SBI Card allows ₹5 lakh a day and Kotak ₹1 lakh a card, within your credit limit, with ₹5,000 in the first 24 hours.
Do UPI spends on a RuPay credit card earn rewards?
Usually yes, as per the card's terms, but several cards cap UPI rewards at 500 points or NeuCoins a month.
Can add-on RuPay cards be used on UPI?
Kotak says add-on RuPay cards are not eligible; check with your bank.
Do RuPay credit cards work abroad on UPI?
Credit card UPI is for domestic merchants; carry a Visa or Mastercard for overseas spending.
Official Sources and Editorial Note
Data checked as of: 4 November 2026
NPCI: RuPay Credit Card on UPI
https://www.npci.org.in/product/rupay/credit-card-on-upi
HDFC Bank RuPay Credit Card on UPI
https://www.hdfc.bank.in/rupay-cc-on-upi
SBI Card UPI FAQs
https://www.sbicard.com/en/faq/sbi-upi-faq.page
ICICI Bank RuPay Credit Cards
https://www.icici.bank.in/personal-banking/cards/credit-card/rupay-credit-card
Axis Bank RuPay Credit Card on UPI
https://www.axis.bank.in/payments/payment-methods/credit-card-on-upi
Kotak Mahindra Bank RuPay Credit Cards
https://www.kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/cards/credit-cards/rupay-credit-cards.html
IDFC FIRST Bank Credit Card MITC
IDFC FIRST MITC (PDF)
IndusInd Bank: UPI payments via credit cards
https://www.indusind.bank.in/in/en/personal/cards/upi-payments-via-credit-cards.html
YES BANK KLICK RuPay Credit Card user guide
YES BANK KLICK RuPay guide (PDF)
BOBCARD: credit card on UPI
https://www.bobcard.co.in/blogs/credit-card-on-upi
Union Bank of India: RuPay credit card on UPI
Union Bank RuPay on UPI
Federal Bank: UPI on RuPay credit card
https://www.federal.bank.in/rupay-credit-card-upi
AU Small Finance Bank: InstaPay RuPay credit card and AU Spont credit card
https://www.au.bank.in/personal-banking/credit-cards/instapay-credit-card
https://www.au.bank.in/personal-banking/credit-cards/au-spont-credit-card
Scapia Axis Bank Credit Card terms
Scapia Axis T&Cs (PDF)
SBI Card Key Fact Statement (utility and rent fees)
SBI Card KFS (PDF)
Important source note:
This article is written from official sources and does not rely on third-party wording. NPCI's RuPay page did not load a readable issuer list when we checked, so the bank list is built from each issuer's own pages.
Editorial note:
Banks add and withdraw RuPay variants and change UPI limits. Confirm with your bank as of November 2026 before applying.